21) Scott Bedbury’s THRIVE Campaign

Although art and design are a huge part of advertising, I’ve realized I haven’t focused many blogs on actual advertisements.

I decided to look at Kaiser Permanente’s THRIVE Campaign. I mostly was interested in this campaign because Scott Bedbury mentioned it in his lecture as being is his “handy work” and anything that Scott is involved in is definitely something worth looking at.

<iframe width=”420″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/cprLwG4vgMg&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

I find this commercial (from 2007) hilarious. The little boy cracks me up.

This commercial (from 2004), is so cool to me. It was neat to see all of these signs that are so familiar to you put together in such a way that shines a whole new light on them and gives you a new, and positive, perspective on their meaning.

This one was beautifully executed and I thought that the juxtaposition between nature and cars was very interesting (visually, and metaphorically). And it’s always a plus to promote a better environment!

This is another funny one with a great actor (2005).

I believe that this campaign really works for several reasons. I believe that they are genuine and it shows through their work. They focus on bettering their customers well-being, instead of trying to sell their insurance. Another reason why this campaign works for me is the fact that they play off many different angles, which each have a positive tone. They have funny commercial, ones about bettering the environment, and ones that promote our well-being in general.These commercials make Kaiser Permanente feel personable and relatable, which helps build a relationship with the audience. I think that THRIVE is the perfect slogan for this campaign, and for life in general.

So, go forth, and THRIVE at whatever it is you may be working on.

Leave a Reply

