18) 2013 NY Experience Trip? I HOPE!

I just bought my ticket to Ghana!! Woooooo! Upon doing so, I received even MORE exciting news. My mom used my dad’s racked-up mileage from his business travels to get me a free ticket to NY to see my brother. So when I get back to America after the internship, I will stay in Brooklyn with my brother for one week. I cannot wait. Even better, flying out from NY is $500 cheaper! Talk about a WIN WIN situation! He is a graphic designer at Nickelodean and works right on Broadway near Times Square. It will be such an experience for me to get some insight into his creative world and what he does every day.

During my time there I hope to also visit some of the many advertising agencies in NY to get an insight on what might be in store for MY future. This sparked my search for advertising agencies in NY. We have looked at agencies such as Saatchi & Saatchi, Ogilvy and Gotham in class, so I wanted to look at some of the ones that I am not familiar with.

The first was BBDO. They did a campaign for Pedigree called Doggelganger:

I love this. I always see pet owners that look like their pets and it cracks me up. What a clever idea for a campaign!! And effective!

Another agency I looked at was Droga5. They did a commercial for the Unicef Tap Project = The Power of the Glass.

Here is the amazing case study: Unicef Tap Project Case Study.

This video was so beautifully executed and really brought forth the message in a heartwarming and aesthetically pleasing manner. I love Unicef’s Tap Project. It is such a simple and accessible way to raise money for a great cause.

The thing I love about both these are that they, like advertising agencies should strive toward, are helping a higher cause. Advertising isn’t just about selling products, but selling inspiration. Inspiration to do good.

All of this excitement has motivated me to do everything I can to get a spot for the NY Experience trip for 2013. Creative Week 2012 looks soooooo wonderful and exciting. What a huge opportunity! Best wishes to those who are going!

Leave a Reply

